Somewhere Over the Rainbow

Rainbow
“A place where there isn’t any trouble. Do you suppose there is such a place, Toto? There must be. It’s not a place you can get to by a boat or a train. It’s far, far away. Behind the moon, beyond the rain…” (Dorothy, Wizard of OZ)

Somewhere Over the Rainbow, Judy Garland (1939)

Home is where the heart lies… Where does your heart lie…?

I find my heart in two places- in my home and my desire for some adventure. I hope to have both! I wrote this to describe a place that was very much like home to me. It is my version of “Somewhere Over the Rainbow.”

The Lighthouse

The rustic, chestnut cabin was surrounded by dirt trails that paved the way through endless dark green pine trees . One trail led to a small, quaint picturesque beach front on the lake which had small paddle boats and a restaurant filled with exquisite seafood, where you could smell the fresh fish as you walked a short ways away from the shore.

Camping was also permitted and tents engulfed the beach, with small campfires and the smell of marshmallows at night roasting on the crackling fire. There was a pier, that led out past the shallow, shore of the beach into the deeper, blue waters of the lakefront . The lighthouse was white, with red and navy blue accents, it had one square window, and a spiral, wooden staircase. It stood on a firm foundation of granite rock and lighted the lake for the villagers boats the circled the water.

The light continued to glisten off the water when everything was dark in the camp at night. The light permeated across the town and provided a constant guide to navigate ones way in the dark depending upon how bright the light was.

This rustic, chestnut cabin had nothing grand inside. It had dirt floors, two metal bunk beds, and a small white dresser table. The bathroom had an oval tub and a sink with no counter, which left little space to prep ones hair and make up for the day.

Yet, it provided a home a space to lie my head at night as I breathed in the mountain air and as I bask in the sun with a book, lying in a beach chair close to the serene lake. The mountain trails where my escape, where I rode a bike to town while the wind would run through my hair. The candy store sold homemade ice cream, gourmet coffee, and chocolate truffles. The clothing store sold seashell necklaces, flip flop sandals, and tank tops with beach print.

While some may feel their homes need to be filled with several bedrooms, dining room, family room, a grand kitchen, and backyard with a white picket fence. My favorite home had only room to lay my head, as I roamed around a town, a lake, and the forest. Exploring the beauty of the outdoors, as I watched the glistening light from the lighthouse that beamed across the trees, mountains, and paths at night.

Reflect and Respond

How would you describe your home? Does it have a white picket fence, family room, kitchen etc., or is your home in some special place- like I described above? Maybe, your heart is in two places- between home and adventure? We would love to hear about your special place you call home. Home is where the heart is…

One thought on “Somewhere Over the Rainbow

  1. Pingback: I lift my eyes up to the mountains | Home is Where the Heart Is

Leave a Reply

