The Blank Canvas

A New Beginning…

Home Inspirational words

Retrieved from (http://www.photoswithquotes.com/bloom_where_you_are_planted_333.htm)

Home. What comes to mind when you hear this word? Right now, for me, it means redecorating; My husband and I are redecorating the living room. Now that we have lived in the house for five years, it’s time to do a little remodeling. My house hasn’t been painted or richly decorated since we moved in.  Replacing old and borrowed items with newly chosen decorations and fresh paint is like a dream come true. I am so excited to begin this summer  journey…

Presently, my living room is filled with a dark chocolate paint from the previous owners. We have made the most of it, but it has always darkened the mood of the room. We brighten it with our decorations and laughter, but what it really needs is a fresh coat of  paint  that is a cheerful color. We chose a blue color called Colorado Springs. Our inspiration came from beautiful photos we came across of different Cape Cod décor. We liked the feeling of those living rooms filled with different shades of  blue and white accents with beach themed attire and decorations. We wanted to bring that calm and serene feeling into our home.

The first few days of painting we were both rejuvenated.  Especially when the primer fully covered the brown walls and all you could see was white. After five years of dark brown, I was estatic to say the least. And then I begin to think…

Although, we have been married for eight years my husband and I were  beginning a new chapter in our life. We both are starting different teaching positions in the Fall. I as a 2nd grade teacher; he as a middle school teacher. Reflecting on this passage from Ecclesiastes 3:3-8, there is “… A time to weepAnd a time to laugh; A time to mourn, And a time to dance…” reminds me of both my past and present seasons. I  have felt great grief in the past few years. And lately, I am experiencing a time of blessings and I am truly grateful for God’s goodness. As a new season unfolds, I am hoping to see  blooms of love, joy, and peace…

I am embracing the present and letting go of the past. Ecclesiastes 3:3 (NIV) reads, “There is a time for everything, and a season for every activity under the heaves” which reminds me of this truth.

Whatever the season, for good or bad, I pray that I can learn to be content and at peace knowing that God is ultimately in control. I am not there yet, but I know I am a work in progress; God is continuing to shape me, “Like clay in the hand of the potter, so are you in my hand…” Jeremiah 18:6 (NIV).  Likewise, Isaiah 64:8 (NIV)  further explains, “Yet you, Lord, are our Father we are the clay, you are the potter; we are all the work of your hand.”  

Bebo Norman’s song ” The Hammer Holds,” illustrates this in a somber and eloquent way: God is constantly shaping us. And when we endure hardships and trials in our life, it is part ot the Maker’s plan. By purifying our hearts, just as gold is refined in fire ,the songwriter expresses the pain of being purified. Yet knows, God is good; this pain is necessary. This  song  comforts me knowing when I am going through a difficult time that it is an intricate  process as God is handcrafting  me for His purpose. The first verse to the song, “A shapeless piece of clay… that’s all I came to be… but this hammer pounds…”

“The Hammer Holds” by: Bebo Norman

As the  smell of  freshly scented paint filled the air, and I  looked at my white newly primed walls, waiting to be splashed with color. I realized my life is a canvas. I can paint on it anything that I so chose. Just as a painter selects a new scene to draw and new colors to paint with I draw on the blank canvas of my life, each day, and make a beautiful piece of art.

The blank canvas before me…

white canvas

                                                                      and the blank canvas  in front of you…

One thought on “The Blank Canvas

  1. Pingback: You can’t take it with you–Your stuff ! | Home is Where the Heart Is

Leave a Reply

