Ever Present Help in Times of Trouble…

Woods

Each and ever day I need God’s strength to make it through. I cannot predict the future. I face many different decisions throughout the day. There are roads not taken…and some chosen…each with their own bends and twists in the woods that lead us to another unknown place.  Robert Frost wrote a poem describing the dilemma each of us face in the array of choices presented to us each and every day.

The Road Not Taken  1874–1963

Two roads diverged in a yellow wood,
And sorry I could not travel both
And be one traveler, long I stoodWoods bridge
And looked down one as far as I could
To where it bent in the undergrowth;
Then took the other, as just as fair,
And having perhaps the better claim,
Because it was grassy and wanted wear;
Though as for that the passing there
Had worn them really about the same,
And both that morning equally lay
In leaves no step had trodden black.
Oh, I kept the first for another day!
Yet knowing how way leads on to way,
I doubted if I should ever come back.
I shall be telling this with a sigh
Somewhere ages and ages hence:
Two roads diverged in a wood, and I—
I took the one less traveled by,
And that has made all the difference.

The poem, “The Road Not Taken,” by Robert Frost explores the theme of choice.  Yet, there are so many interpretations of how Frost is exploring this theme.  Does it mean that all choices in life our sometimes equal?  For example, the poem suggests that both choices are “just as fair.” Or does it mean that some choices impact us in ways that make “all the difference.” I really do not know. I think the unknown combined with the idea of the dilemma’s we face creates the complexity and  intrigue of this well crafted poem. It is a common but exquisite metaphor, that the speaker is in the woods, a place where we may be scared and in need of safety  from any danger that can approach our way. As I think about my own life,  I often think of a decision I made and don’t see the impact until time has passed. As Robert Frost suggests, in the lines, “I shall be telling this with a sigh/Somewhere ages and ages hence,” it is hard to see, in the moment,  the result of a road taken or not taken. For example, how can any of us know if it was the right decision to change careers, start a family, move across the country?  It isn’t until a significant time has passed that the outcome becomes clear.

Woods Waterfallgreen barn

I am intrigued by these lines in the  poem:  “Yet knowing how way leads on to way/ I doubted I would never go back.”  Robert Frost is suggesting that many opportunities may never come around again once we pass them by.  I don’t believe this is true.  Through hope, and determination, and hard work we can revisit paths me may not have been able to walk down before. We should not live in fear. If we are thoughtful and have two choices, sometimes neither can be wrong. Some may be more difficult; however, as this anonymous quote suggests: “The will of God will never take you where the grace of God will not protect you.” If you are ever given two options that are difficult to chose between, you can rest at ease. If we stumble, we may just return, all the more stronger and wiser, to that fork in the woods where we can take the path that we missed. It is never to late to begin again…

Deers in the woods

 

My own version of ” The Road Not Taken” by: Robert Frost

Choices

Although the choices we face in life may always be

filled with doubt, indecision, or regret

It is never to late

Our  life is full of decisions that must be made

but yes, we can always return to another day

Filled with new possibilities

To find love in unknown places,

To find the happiness and the fulfillment we need,

To find a resting place just like home.

Home is where the Heart is. Where does your heart lie?

Small birdhouse

How do we rest and find peace in the mist of the endless bends and twists in this road called life? I rely on God. Psalm 46 reads,” God is our refuge and strength,an ever-present help in trouble.”  Thus, whatever path I chose I can find rest in this,” … Be strong and of good courage; do not be afraid, nor be dismayed, for the Lord your God is with you wherever you go.”Joshua 1:9

2 thoughts on “Ever Present Help in Times of Trouble…

  1. Pingback: Are you in tune with God? | Home is Where the Heart Is

  2. Pingback: I lift my eyes up to the mountains | Home is Where the Heart Is

Leave a Reply

